Light Upon Light

A few weeks ago I was having one of the worst weeks of my life since starting grad school. The week began with disappointment after disappointment, leading to stress, pressure, and a bucket full of built up tears waiting to be released at any given moment.  It ended with a sense of failure, choked up feelings, and a long nap.

Here I am, three weeks later, with a feeling of spiritual fulfillment as I realize how Allah was testing me with hardships only to prove to me that He is bigger than any of my worries. The past few days proved that my struggles during that difficult week resulted in blessings I would have never seen coming–much beyond anything I ever expected, alhamdulilah. I needed to trust Him, and though tawakul is something I constantly preach, it is also something that I struggle with everyday.

Today my friend, Raya, shared with me one of my favorite verses from Surat al Noor (Quran 24:35) that really put all of this into perspective:

۞ اللَّهُ نُورُ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالْأَرْضِ ۚ مَثَلُ نُورِهِ كَمِشْكَاةٍ فِيهَا مِصْبَاحٌ ۖ الْمِصْبَاحُ فِي زُجَاجَةٍ ۖ الزُّجَاجَةُ كَأَنَّهَا كَوْكَبٌ دُرِّيٌّ يُوقَدُ مِنْ شَجَرَةٍ مُبَارَكَةٍ زَيْتُونَةٍ لَا شَرْقِيَّةٍ وَلَا غَرْبِيَّةٍ يَكَادُ زَيْتُهَا يُضِيءُ وَلَوْ لَمْ تَمْسَسْهُ نَارٌ ۚ نُورٌ عَلَىٰ نُورٍ ۗ يَهْدِي اللَّهُ لِنُورِهِ مَنْ يَشَاءُ ۚ وَيَضْرِبُ اللَّهُ الْأَمْثَالَ لِلنَّاسِ ۗ وَاللَّهُ بِكُلِّ شَيْءٍ عَلِي

God is the Light of the heavens and the earth. The parable of His light is, as it were, that of a niche containing a lamp; the lamp is [enclosed] in glass, the glass [shining] like a radiant star: [a lamp] lit from a blessed tree – an olive-tree that is neither of the east nor of the west the oil whereof [is so bright that it] would well-nigh give light [of itself] even though fire had not touched it: light upon light! God guides unto His light him that wills [to be guided]; and [to this end] God propounds parables unto men, since God [alone] has full knowledge of all things.

As I look back at that miserable week, I realize that the only reason I got through it was because beyond the darkness of the moment, I was guided by His light. Though it is difficult at times, I must always remember He will always be there for me shedding his noor (light). His light will prevail, even in the worst of times. In the words of Raya, “His light graces those who embrace it. No fire needed to fuel it. Just purity.”

So if you’re feeling overwhelmed, let His light guide you, because truly He has not forgotten you.

–IH

© 2012 TeaPromise. All Rights Reserved.

Let us know what you think about this post!

