Growing Up

When I was 16 and looked at people in their twenties, I thought, “Wow, that’s so old!” Now, in what seems to have been a blink of an eye, I am well into my twenties and until very recently I just wanted to scream to the world, “Hey, I’m still young!!” I felt like everyone looked at me as though I was so old (just like I had looked at twenty-somethings just a few, short years ago). I constantly felt the need to defend my youth because there was a sense of angst and panic associated with growing up. Just yesterday I was in fourth grade writing about what I want to be when I grow up and today I am living that grown-up life!

I turned 24 last month and ironically, it took me about four years to realize that I’m not old. Every year I tell myself that I need to embrace my age because this is the youngest I will ever be, but I always find myself fearfully counting down the months until my next birthday. But this year is different. I feel confident about my age because I don’t want to look back in ten years and realize I wasted my twenties obsessing over being old, when I was actually young! Unlike 23, 24 seems to be more sophisticated and I pray that it will be a better year because I am in a somewhat more stable place in my life than I was in my earlier twenties.

To the young and the old and the old who are young, you are in my prayers, inshAllah.

–IH

IMG_2566

© 2012 TeaPromise. All Rights Reserved.

4 thoughts on “Growing Up

  1. Enjoy every year of your life! Each season of life has its benefits and rewards! Sometimes it seems difficult but there are always good things along the way!

Let us know what you think about this post!

