Clear Our Minds: Focus. (Pt 1, IH)

“I know you feel tired and worn. I know you’re tired of failing. Rest, but don’t stop. You can do this. You got this. Not because you’re strong, but because He’s your strength.”

–Yasmin Mogahed

I’ve been very distracted lately. Distracted by my exhaustion and my thoughts. Distracted from my schoolwork and distracted from my goals in life. I was losing sight of what was truly important. I was getting so caught up in the minor details of life that I was not seeing the grand scheme of things. Azkar expressed to me that she had similar feelings which is why we collectively decided to make the September theme plain and simple: Focus.

I did multiple things to help me focus this month. Firstly, I made sure that I began each task by saying Bismillah Alrahman Alraheem (In the name of God, Most Gracious, Most Merciful) so that inshAllah everything that I do may be blessed. We learn to do this as kids, but sometimes we get so caught up in the world that even the smallest (and most important) things slip away. Although I always keep a planner handy and jot down reminders and tasks that need to be done, I decided that I needed to make full use of my planner. I began giving myself daily goals and in my planner I wrote down an hour by hour schedule of when each task needed to be done so that I made full use of my time. This helped with my worldly goals.

To help with focusing on my Islamic goals, I joined a new Quran memorization class. After a series of events last March, I had not been going to Quran class anymore so I tried memorizing on my own, but that proved to be very difficult (especially because without a group, motivation levels tend to sink pretty low). I had been praying for the motivation to continue, and surely enough this opportunity fell into my lap–a clear sign of my accepted prayer, Alhamdulilah. This new group is going at a much slower pace than the old group, which is great for my hectic schedule, yet it still challenges me to work hard. This has definitely brought me the greatest satisfaction, Alhamdulilah.

Despite working hard to focus this month, there were some things that were completely out of my hand. This set me back and caused me to lose focus at times so I need to work more on adjusting to unexpected circumstances by rearranging my schedule to realistic goals, when needed.
I would say this theme, for me, was a success and a failure.  But then again, aren’t they always? The point of these monthly themes is to create a template that I can live by. The first month is just a practice round and the real test is seeing if I apply it to my life after the month is over. InshAllah I can take what I’ve learned during this month and add on to it in the coming months and years. And inshAllah I can take the aspects that were not successful and improve them so that I can further accentuate my focus skills.
–IH
To read Azkar’s Part 2, click here.

© 2012 TeaPromise. All Rights Reserved.

Let us know what you think about this post!

