Let Go and Let God: Patience من تصبر يصبره الله (Those that work on being patient, God will make them patient)

I hate change. If I have ever felt heartbroken in my life, it has been at the prospect of change. I would prefer a life of familiarity where I would live in the same place, know the same people, and do the same things I’ve always done. But life doesn’t work that way. Every phase of my life has consisted of a major change.

In sixth grade, my parents moved me to a private all-girls school. Right before my sophomore year of high school, my entire family moved overseas, to Jordan. Then we all moved back to the states the summer before I started college. I had my fair share of tears while going through these changes, but without them, I would be unrecognizable to my current self. The all-girls school that I went to in junior high was one of the greatest blessings of my life because I met my best friends at that school, including Azkar. Moving to Jordan was one of the most depressing things I ever had to do, but once I started to adjust, I was armed with new experiences that have molded me into who I am. At the tender age of 16, I had lived in two completely different countries and had experiences that many people have never and may never have. I began to view the world in a different way, as I realized that there was a different life outside of my suburban Illinois town.

The past year, particularly this month, was jam-packed with major changes. No matter how much I wanted to oppose my new life, I learned that despite my hating change, everything will work out for the best. The key is letting go of what I always believed was the way things were supposed to be, and to be patient as I pedal my way through the tunnel and to the light.

–IH

© 2012 TeaPromise. All Rights Reserved.

One thought on “Let Go and Let God: Patience من تصبر يصبره الله (Those that work on being patient, God will make them patient)

  1. Pingback: 11 Things I Learned About Myself in March | TeaPromise™

Let us know what you think about this post!

